silkywhisky

DALWHINNIE Distillers Edition

1.58× mild premium NAS rating 5.0/5 · n=2
cheapest
€79.90
whisky.fr
intrinsic
€50.78
N
2

Is it worth the price?

DALWHINNIE Distillers Edition is a Speyside single malt Scotch from the Dalwhinnie distillery, released without an age statement. Tasters score it 5.0 out of 5 across 2 reviews. It is tracked at 2 retailers, ranging from €79.90 to €80.22, while the valuation model estimates a fair price of around €50.78. That is 1.58× the model estimate — a mild premium over what its age, strength and house predict. The estimate is fitted on age, bottling strength and the distillery's other prices; community ratings add no measurable signal to it, so this is not a quality judgement. Typical error is around ±65%, so read the verdict as indicative and trust it most at the extremes. Of the 3 Dalwhinnie bottlings priced here, this is the weakest value.

Retailers tracked

Retailer Price
whisky.fr €79.90
thewhiskyshop €80.22

How we got this number

The valuation model predicts a price from this bottling's inputs. The multiple is the actual market price divided by that prediction.

Inputs
Rating
5.00 / 5
Age
No age statement
Region
Speyside
Distillery tier
Mid Label only — set from the distillery’s median price, not used by the model.
Result
Predicted price
€50.78
Actual price (median)
€80.06
Multiple
1.58×
Verdict band
mild premium (1.20× < … ≤ 2.00×)

See the regression's coefficients →

Methodology estimate

The deterministic model from methodology.md: production cost per litre × bottle size, plus maturation cost per year, plus a cask premium, times an ABV factor — then multiplied by a quality grade summed across six 0–3 axes.

Cost floor
Production (€0.18/cl × 70 cl)
€12.60
Maturation (NAS→5 × €1.20/year)
€6.92
Cask premium (undeclared)
+€0.00
× ABV factor
×1.08
Cost floor
€20.98

NAS treated as 5 years for maturation cost (paper convention).

Quality grade (six 0–3 axes)
  • Process distinctness
    no declared distinctive practices
    2 / 3
  • Cask provenance
    cask type not declared on bottle
    0 / 3
  • Bottling integrity
    43.0% ABV; chill-filtration not disclosed; E150a caramel colouring not disclosed
    1 / 3
  • Ownership
    Diageo — independent or smaller group
    2 / 3
  • Heritage
    founded 1898 (128 years of operation)
    2 / 3
  • Reputation
    5.0/5 across 2 reviews
    2 / 3
Quality score
9 / 18
Quality multiplier
×1.75
Intrinsic and multiple
Intrinsic value
€36.72
Actual price (median)
€80.06
Multiple
2.18×
Verdict band
brand premium

Maturation context

Speyside · rolling 12 months: 1,205 mm at Dalwhinnie (0 km). Scotland N rolling 12-month rainfall2,323 mm, +37.30% vs 1995-2024 median.

Other bottlings from Dalwhinnie